opening day 2011

On Wednesday I took off work and headed with some friends to Opening Day at the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club. This is one of the biggest days of the summer for San Diegans, and I was glad to finally be a part of it! Over 46,000 people showed up. We luckily had reserved seats so it wasn’t too crazy in our area. I didn’t bet on the ponies, I’ll save that for my next trip there!

Really, Opening Day is a chance for the ladies to get dressed up and put on fantastic hats (think royal wedding, only bigger and crazier!). There were a lot of fabulous ones, and some not so fabulous ones. You can check out the San Diego’s paper photo gallery for a great selection!

Here are some photos of my day!

all dressed up and ready to go

the track

the ponies racing!

LA's fun hat!

LS and the yummy del margarita!

lovely ladies enjoying opening day!

(pardon the weird fuzzy last picture. my camera is on the fritz and wouldn’t go to the right setting to get this pic. i used picasa to “lighten” up our faces.)

All in all, it was a super fun day and I can’t wait until next year. I’m hoping to get a bigger group together and go all out! Plus there are after parties which are the real highlight of the day, but due to my crazy busy week, I passed this year. But they are definitely on my list of going to next year.

Now I get to check another item off my summer bucket list, yeah!

Leave a Reply

