the scale is moving in the wrong direction

And I have no idea why! I’m up 7 lbs. in one week. I’m sorry, but that is just not possible, is it? I can understand 3 or 4, but SEVEN is just ridiculous. I was lower than I had been in probably 6 months, and now I’m almost back to where I began counting calories. Ugh!

Let’s look at some reasons as to how I gained SEVEN lbs. in one week:

  • it was my birthday = more than a few drinks
  • I had a work trip to downtown San Diego = lack of sleep, drinks, eating out
  • Got home on Saturday, tired = bought Graeter’s ice cream and ate it
  • Sunday = ate the 2nd pint of Graeter’s ice cream
  • Guess I was feeling bad for myself with the ice cream eats
  • Work outs = no gym time, but I did morning walks

So I don’t get it. 7 lbs. is an excess of 24,500 calories. I probably average about 2,000 calories a day when I’m not eating out, and burn about 3,000 without any exercise. Ok, I’m done with the math. I just don’t get the increase, grrr!

I guess the one positive out of this is that I have continued to try and track my calories, although I’ve gotten rather frustrated. Days and nights where I have to eat out I try to substitute something from the fatsecret database for what I actually ate. I try to err on the upper side of calories. You never know how much butter and oil they cook something in! However, when I drink a lot, I kind of forget to add up all the liquid calories. But really, 3,500 extra liquid calories a day, that would be like having 15-20 glasses of wine. (ok, no more math!) The only thing I can hope for is that I get back on the right track and the lbs. go back down. I need to refocus, get back to counting calories and increasing my workouts. I haven’t been to the gym for RPM class in a while. I think tomorrow I’ll attempt a lunchtime class.

Sorry for the rambling. I’m just frustrated. I don’t know if I’m bloated, ate an excess of salt, or my hormones are out of whack. I don’t want to make excuses, since I am the one who is ultimately responsible for my body.

Tomorrow is a new day and I’m determined to do things right. To eat for energy and fuel and to exercise to improve my mind and body.

One response to “the scale is moving in the wrong direction

  1. Pingback: coming soon… | emelle's adventures

Leave a Reply

