carlsbad eats: canyons restaurant at the crossings

Last week, I met my friend Erin at the Crossings at Carlsbad’s restaurant, Canyons. The Crossings is a beautiful public golf course in Carlsbad, CA. It seriously cost like $80 million to build, but it is gorgeous, and a tough course. Anyways, I was here to eat! I had been here before for their Sunday Champagne brunch with my girlfriends. Super good, lots of variety, and reasonably priced. So we decided to go for lunch this time. I’m so glad we did!

First, the view…

view from the patio~gorgeous day!

We started to sit outside on the patio, but the sun wasn’t shining on it so it was a bit to chilly for us.

We stared at the menu for like 10 minutes! It’s a pretty big menu, at least for lunch, I thought. I couldn’t decide between the mac and cheese, a burger, salmon, or a salad. It’s been a long time since I’ve had mac and cheese and this sounded divine, it had andouille sausage, gouda cheese sauce, black truffles and crimini mushrooms.

big menu~i can't decide!

My friend had the Ginger Grilled Chicken with stir fry veggies and almond jasmine rice. It looked really good, but sadly no pictures (I will get the hang of restaurant blogging, eventaully!). I finally decided and went vegetarian with the Portabella Panini with waffle cut fries.

pretty darn good

My panini was pretty good, although the bread fell a bit flat. This seemed more like a hamburger bun. Inside was the grilled portabella (of course!), grilled red onions, basil, and goat cheese (!!). The basil was a bit off in this sandwich, I didn’t think it went real well with the rest of the ingredients. But basil, onion, and portabella, yum! As you can see I did without the lettuce, tomato, and pickles. The fries were nice and crisp, I think I pretty much ate them all!

Service was pretty slow. After we moved inside, we let the server know, and we ended up with another server. I swear we sat for at least 5 minutes before he acknowledged us. Having been a server, that is just unacceptable! We were on lunch, and expected speedy service. The food came out pretty timely, but then our server disappeared. I asked for ranch for my fries, and he forgot. I was 3/4 of the way done, and he brought it out. We asked for our check when he brought the ranch, and we didn’t get the check until after we were both done. I was fortunate that I can take a bit longer lunch, but my friend had to get back to work. So, the food was good, but the service was lacking!

Rating: 3 forks

 

One response to “carlsbad eats: canyons restaurant at the crossings

  1. Pingback: $10 or $20 to Spend on Food and Drink | 4 Real Cheap

Leave a Reply

