catching up and i’ve got visitors!

So sorry, I’ve neglected my blog for a bit. I had to go out of town earlier this week for work and was busy, busy, busy! I had to travel on Saturday, and I hate having to travel/work on the weekends. But I survived and had a wonderful reunion with an old friend…more on that on another day! I had to fly back on Tuesday, amidst a bunch of storms and tornados. Luckily I made it to Dallas, and while my flight was delayed a bit, we made it out in time. The pilot said 15 minutes after we took off, the storms hit and the airport shut down. So I totally lucked out, and it was a good thing because my PARENTS were in town!

My parents made the trip out from Ohio on Tuesday, and we got together on Wednesday. I met them at their hotel, and we went to the San Diego Botanic Garden in Encinitas. I had never been and wasn’t really sure what to expect. Both my parents are in their 70s, and their mobility is limited. But we made the best of it, and really enjoyed the beautiful gardens. I can’t wait to go back and explore even more! Some photos from the day…

entrance

where wine corks come from!

the cork oak tree, pretty cool!

lizards were everywhere!

cool plant

i love yellow!

weird looking bird artwork

beautiful rose

waterfall

pretty in pink

ocean view

lizards chasing each other"

most unusual plant we saw

what a cute couple! my parents

Aren’t my parents so in love! In July, they will celebrate their 45th wedding anniversary.

After the botanic garden, I took them to my gym. They were really impressed. Now if only the weight would start coming off since I go 4-5 days a week and work hard! After the gym, we went to Tommy V’s in Carlsbad. They had gone there the night before and they liked it so much they said they’d go back for lunch. I was planning to take them there, until they said they had dinner, but I was glad they wanted to go back. It was really good! I will definitely be going back, it’s so close to my office.

After lunch I took them to the Carlsbad Farmer’s Market. The Wednesday market is far better than the Saturday market! There were so many more tents and a wide variety of farmers to choose from. I got a bunch of fruits and veggies, and how sweet is my mom, she bought them for me! The just picked that day strawberries were AWESOME!

I took them back to my newly cleaned apartment to settle in and watch Oprah’s final show. It was a wonderful way for Oprah to end her show. I will definitely rewatch it.

For dinner we went to Rimel’s Rotisserie in Cardiff-by-the-Sea. It was a small place, but had good food and wine. It was a nice ending to a long day. I really enjoyed the time with my parents. They headed to my sister’s today through next week. My niece and nephew are both “graduating” from elementary and middle school respectively. Plus they have ball games all weekend. I’ll be heading to the games this weekend, so I’ll get to spend more time with my folks.

I’m really looking forward to the long weekend and spending time with the family. Just like Memorial Day weekend’s of the days of growing up!

Hope everyone has a great weekend! I’m going to try and post a few more things as I’m able!

Leave a Reply

