baking adventure: vera’s yum-yum cake

I skipped BodyPump class this morning. I feel so bad now. I should of just sucked it up and gone. Plus I ate Oreo’s for breakfast, seriously, what is going on with me?!?! I guess it’s not too late to go for a walk to the beach. It is a beautiful day here!

Tomorrow is Easter! What a wonderful holiday it is, celebrating that Jesus has risen. I can’t wait to go to church and then head to my sister’s to enjoy an Easter lunch together. I was assigned the dessert, so I looked through all my cookbooks and settled on Vera’s Yum-Yum Cake out of Vera Bradley‘s Cooking with Friends. This cookbook is divided up by the seasons, so of course I chose one suited for Spring! I can’t wait to eat it tomorrow!

Vera’s Yum Yum Cake

Serves 15

ingredients

  • 1 (2-layer) package yellow cake mix
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (4-oz.) package vanilla instant pudding mix
  • 1 cup milk
  • 16 oz. whipped topping
  • 2 (16 oz.) pkgs. fresh strawberries or frozen strawberries, thawed
  • 2 cups shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Prepare and bake the cake using the package directions for a 9×13 inch cake pan. Cool in the pan on a wire rack.

cake batter

Beat the cream cheese in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add the pudding mix and milk and beat until smooth.

before beating the pudding in

Fold in the whipped topping. (This makes ALOT. You might be able to get away with just 12 oz. of whipped topping. I had leftover and used it to dip my leftover strawberries in! Delish!)

i started to fold in the whipped topping, but decided mixing it would work well too.

Spread over the cooled cake. Arrange the strawberries evenly over the cake. Sprinkle with the coconut and walnuts.

finito! (half without coconut and walnuts since i don't like coconut!)

Chill, covered, for 4-6 hours before serving.

***This recipe was super easy! I just hope that everyone likes it! I was going to make some mint brownies too, just in case, but I may just pick up some cookies. Kids can be pretty picky, and I know 2 people don’t like strawberries (which I hope they just pick off).

I’m also making Sparkling Raspberry Lemonade (from the same cookbook). I think it would be super yummy with some vodka. Maybe next time, since this time it has to be kid-friendly for Easter.

About to Watch: Love & Other Drugs

Leave a Reply

