vacation recap: day 1

I took a little vacation  last week and flew out to AUSTIN, TEXAS to meet my friend Julie. I chose Austin since I’ve heard so many great things about the place and it was easy for both of us to get to since Julie lives in Atlanta. We try and meet somewhere for a long weekend at least once a year. Last year was New Orleans, the previous year she came to see me in San Diego, and we met in Seattle a few years ago. She’s a great travel buddy because she is always game for anything, which means I get to do all the planning. This time though, I told her I just wanted to play it by ear, and didn’t plan anything! It was so hard to let go, but it was much more relaxing! However, day 1 started and I wasn’t so sure how relaxing the start to my vacation was going to be.

My flight was to leave at 1:45pm from Orange County, so I had a bit of a free morning. I decided to start vacation off with these…

mmmm...donuts

Yeah, I shouldn’t have done it, but I did. I got them from Super Donut in Carlsbad. This place is like an old school donut shoppe, complete with a counter and stool. You can just picture all of the cops who have sat their asses down on one of those. It also has a drive thru. I have only been one other time, so it was a treat worthy of vacation. Oh, and they were super good!

After the donuts I finished packing, and got a call from the airline. My flight was delayed 30 min. Ugh! Good thing it was early enough that I hadn’t left for the airport. About 30 minutes later, I got another call and the flight was now an hour delayed. Ok, now I was getting worried. I had a short connection in Dallas, and could miss it if the flight delays any more. I called Julie and let her know. As I’m on the phone, I get another call, and it’s another delay. I can’t remember how many more calls I got, but they finally cancelled the flight. They rescheduled me on the flight for the following afternoon, um, yeah, that was not going to work! I called the airline and thankfully was able to change to fly out of San Diego. Phew!

So after the worrisome morning, I finally took off and dropped the dog off at the kennel. She was so excited…

off to the kennel

I think she just gets excited to go for a car ride. Although she does do pretty well at the kennel, at least the workers there tell me that.

After dropping her off, I headed down to the San Diego airport, but had to make a little stop for one of these beauties…

heaven on earth

Oh yes, I finally made it to Sprinkles La Jolla! I have a story about Sprinkles and I will save it for another blog post, but let’s just say I have been waiting YEARS to get my hands on a Sprinkles cupcake. I was so happy to be on vacation!!!

Finally made it to the airport, boarded the flight with no problem, had to go through LAX for a short layover, and made it to Austin around 10:30pm. Took the SuperShuttle to the hotel and met my friend. I was so ready for a drink, so we hit the hotel bar. Of course I had a Jack & Diet, and got a bit of a shock that my friend has given up drinking. WTF?!?! I really don’t mind, good for her, but now I was going to be the only one acting crazy stupid after one too many, but at least I knew we would always get back to the hotel safely!

So day 1 was in the books. We stayed up late and chatted about life, boys, and jobs. We were ready to tackle Austin the next day!

Stay tuned for the rest of my trip to AUSTIN!

Watching: The Oprah Winfrey Show “Incedible: Where are they now? follow ups”

3 responses to “vacation recap: day 1

  1. Pingback: vacation recap: day 2, part I « emelle's adventures

  2. Pingback: vacation recap: day 2, part II « emelle's adventures

  3. Pingback: vacation recap: day 3 & 4 « emelle's adventures

Leave a Reply

