there’s always an upside

Yesterday afternoon I spent 2 hours of my day watching the NCAA college hockey tournament, in which my alma mater was playing. After 2 consecutive years of making it to the Frozen Four (similar to the Final Four in bball), we, the fans, all thought we had a pretty good chance of making it again. We had just won the conference tourney and were a #1 seed. We knew it wasn’t a given, and unfortunately, things don’t always work out as you hope, and the boys lost, 1-3. So, I won’t be making the trip to the Frozen Four this year in St. Paul, MN.

As bummed as I am about not going and seeing all of my favorite people partying it up, there are several upsides for me:

  • I won’t have to spend the money on tickets, hotel, and food. And I don’t have to beg the boss to let me go take care of some business while I’m there, so they could pay for my flight.
  • I get to go to my church’s Women’s Retreat. Nancy Ortberg is speaking and I’m very excited to get to connect with her and other ladies in my church. My small group just finished John Ortberg‘s book, The Life You’ve Always Wanted, so it will be interesting to hear what his wife will be speaking about. Nancy has a book out too, and I bought it today. Looking forward to reading it.
  • I get to have a fun night out with my girlfriends to celebrate a birthday!

So you see, there’s always an upside when things don’t go as planned.

Coming up: I picked up my new camera today and have been taking random pics around my apartment. Stay tuned…

Watching: NCAA Basketball UK v. UNC (and UK wins, boo!)

 

Leave a Reply

