Fresh & Easy

My camera’s broken. I’m so sad. It still turns on but it won’t focus. Luckily my last picture is of this glorious moment after work last Thursday.

I feel like God was trying to say something to me. I haven’t figured it out yet, but I know I’m in good hands.

Fresh & Easy

There’s a new F&E that opened up near my favorite farmer’s market store, Boney’s. I had forgotten to get onions so I popped into F&E to find some. Well, I got suckered into their prepackaged fresh meals. And thinking I was getting a good deal on buying 4 onions at once. Really, can a single girl finish 4 onions before they go bad? I mean I love them in my omelets and salads and sandwiches, but I usually go through one a week. So I’m still not sold on F&E. My friend swears by it, saying she eats healthier and spends less money. Of course, she’s got a daughter and live-in boyfriend. I think I’ll stick with making my own food instead of the prepackeged stuff. Although I think it might work if I’m in a pinch for something somewhat healthy.

Working Hard and Working Out

I have been putting in a lot of hours at the office, trying to craft a business plan in hopes that I get a promotion. It’s been fun, although I feel like I’m back getting my MBA. I’m sort of nervous since my boss is reviewing it on his trip tomorrow. I don’t mind the critiquing, but you just have to understand my boss and you’d understand my nervousness. So, I figure I’ll just continue to write the plan up and keep adding until I feel that it is solid enough to present to the rest of the team and my boss’s boss. So work is going well, I’m staying motivated and don’t mind the long hours.

I’ve also been working out, mostly by taking off at lunch time for a spin or BodyPump class at my gym. I did 18 days during February, that’s pretty good for me, 64%. Of course, I haven’t conquered my eating habits, so I’m trying to work on those. I didn’t lose very much weight in the month, but I feel like I’m getting on the right path and I feel better and stronger. And I’m much more upbeat and confident than I was before. I’m exhausted at the end of the day, which is a good thing as I try to ween myself off Tylenol PMs!

Nothing else really exciting happening around here. We’ll see what kind of trouble I can get into.

 

Advertisements

ABCs

Wow, it’s been about a month since I did a post, and it was such a short one! I have been so busy this month, work has me working like a dog, and I’ve done really well with workouts, avg. about 5 a week alternating between spin class and BodyPump. Of course today I had planned to hit the gym, but woke up with a slight sore throat and an aching back. Currently doing some electrical stimulation on my back in hopes that it loosens up and I can at least get a walk in!

I figure it’s time to catch up, and what better way than to learn more about me, but doing the ABCs that’s been going around on many blogs I read. So  here goes:

A. Age: 33…nuff said!

B: Bed size: Queen and I love it. Plenty of room for me to sleep diagonally (yes, I know that is strange!)

C. Chore you hate: All of them! I was one of those spoiled kids who got off easy and rarely had to do chores. My parents tried, heck, I even created a chore chart since I love to track things, but it just didn’t work out. My mom made my bed every day, we had a maid come every week, my dad took the trash out, and I had it easy. I was a swimmer, so I would go from school to practice to dinner to homework. I guess as long as I kept my grades up, my parents were happy that I didn’t have time to do chores. So today, I hate chores. I don’t know the last time I actually made my bed! (and now you know how infrequently I was my sheets, oops!)

D: Dogs: love them! I have a purebred mutt to prove it. She’s the love of my life for now, and I always say, “love me, love my dog” to any potential mate. She’s great, a bit whiney in her old age, and I have to arrange my social calendar around her potty schedule (i’ll be late, I have to let the dog out.). We had a shetland sheepdog growing up and I can’t imagine living without a dog.

E: Essential start to your day: Breakfast. Very few days go by where I don’t eat breakfast. I usually have an omelet, 1 egg, 2 egg whites, with red onions and mexican cheese. And cooked in coconut oil.

F: Favorite color: Yellow. It’s just so bright and cheery, it really brightens up my day.

G: Gold or Silver: Silver. I used to like gold better, but silver just looks better on my these days.

H. Height: 5’3″, although I feel like I tower over people that are 5’1″ and 5’2″ and don’t really feel all that short around those taller than me. I wish I was taller, but it’s all good.

I. Instruments You Play: NONE! I took piano lessons when I was a kid. And I played the violin when I was in 5th grade. But much preferred singing.

J. Job Title: Marketing Coordinator for Business Development & Professional Relations: Is that not the longest job title you’ve ever seen?!?! I rarely tell people my title, I usually say, “He (boss) comes up with the ideas, and I do all the work!” I don’t even work in our marketing dept., but when I was promoted, it made sense. Now it doesn’t, so I’m hoping my boss will work with HR to change it in the very near future.

K. Kids: I used to want them, and I think I still do, but without a partner in crime, I don’t think I could do it. I’ve thought about adoption, especially if I’m still singe at 40, but who knows. Whatever God has in store for me will work for me.

L. Live: In Carlsbad, CA, 30 min. north of San Diego. I love it here.

M. MOm’s name: Mary Gregg…Double name from the South. And I was named for her and her best friend’s middle name.

N. Nicknames: Oh so many over the years. ML, Mare, Hastyface, Mlh, & Beaver (don’t even start to ask about that one).

O. Overnight hospital stays: NONE (knocking on wood)

P. Pet peeve. Fake people, people who flaunt their wealth, and brownnosers

Q. Quote from a movie: While I like to watch movies, I don’t ever really remember good quotes from any of them. So I have to pass on this one!

R. Righty or lefty: Right for me.

S. Sibling: 2 older sisters. One live 45 minutes from me and the other is in a Chicago suburb. Love them both!

T. Time you wake up: sometime between 6:30 and 7am usually. Although today I got up at 7:27, when my dog started whining, so I took her out and I slept until noon! It didn’t help that my throat was sore and I may be getting sick.

U. Underwear: I have a variety 😉

V. Vegetable you dislike: Oooh, this is a good one. I keep trying more and more vegetables. Like I used to dislike brussels sprouts, until I actually tried them! I think maybe I don’t like cabbage, especially the way my mom prepares it. It just stinks. Also not a fan of cauliflower and I don’t like cooked spinach, but the raw stuff is the best.

W. What makes you run late: Traffic. I’m usually on-time or early. Except for work, since I’m salaried, as long as I get my work done and done well, it doens’t matter when I go in. My boss usually shows up by 8:30, so I get in just before that.

X. X-rays: I’ve had a few, but none in recent years (knock on wood). I broke my wrist when I was a kindergartener, swimmer’s shoulder when I was in middle school, and a herniated disc in college. Had to get x-rays each time.

Y. Yummy food you make: A balsamic and goat cheese filet mignon. It’s a recipe from myrecipes.com.

Z. Zoo favorite animal: So many to choose from. I think I like the lions the best. So majestic and gorgeous.

Those are my ABCs. Not sure if you learned more about me, but at least I finally got another blog post up :).

Looking forward to a great week of work, workouts, cooking, and friends.