whirlwind week

Wow, I can’t believe it is already Saturday! Actually I’m relieved that it is Saturday. The last few days have been a whirlwind. I don’t think I have ever been busier at work, or more motivated or excited to do things.

Tuesday…you can read more here.

Wednesday…My boss and I had a meeting that I was anticipating since it was scheduled about 2 weeks ago. Everything went really well, and I’m excited about the new year and what one of my new projects is going to be. Plus, I get to travel to Austin next week to meet with a co-worker in another division of the company to determine the roles in the project. I’m really hoping I can oversee it all, it is right up my alley! However I did skip the lunchtime PHIT class at work. I knew we were going to have to run a mile for time, and I just am not able to run b/c of my shin splints. So I skipped out.I did go to the gym after work and did 30 min. bike/elliptical workout, plus I speed walked a mile. So I made up for missing out on the PHIT class mile. That felt good.

Thursday…Finally the day my alma mater got to play in a bowl game after a 7 year absence! I headed down to Players Sports Bar in Clairmont Mesa for our alumni gathering to watch the game. I was surprised by the turn out, and I met some fun people. I knew I wasn’t going to know anyone going in, but everyone was so nice and excited about the game. And we won the game! Our interim head coach gave a rousing pregame speech that’s been played repeatedly on sportscenter, other sports talk shows and even Don Imus.

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to go tackle someone! I really loved the tradition behind the special helmets they wore. It was a great night. Plus we made history by being the first team to win 10 games a year after we lost 10 games!!! Love and Honor to Miami!

Friday…I talk so much about my beloved alma mater, that everyone kept telling me great game at work. That was pretty cool. Work stuff, first thing of the day, my boss asked to see me, so I walked in, and he closed the door. I had been feeling pretty confident about my job and the company and my relationship with my boss, so I didn’t have that pit in my stomach feeling like I have had so many other times. And I had no reason to worry this time either. My boss knows that I have been very patient since I started in my current position, and he feels things are finally going to get rolling for our department and wants me to be more involved in a few projects. I do have a unique position and a versatile skill set, so I feel like everything is coming together. Now I’m just hoping that a promotion is in the near future. That is one of my goals for the year and I think with the work that is coming my way, I will be able to be successful. Plus he wants me to go to Minneapolis the week after next for a meeting with him. Busy, busy, busy! I’m just praying that I don’t get overwhelmed, and that I can recognize the signs when that is happening. I did make it to PHIT class at lunch, which I was dreading, but I went and it wasn’t bad. I was just exhausted by 3 o’clock though and still had a bunch of work to get done. I ended up leaving early since I had a pretty bad headache, but I brought the laptop home and was thinking of going into the office on Sat. or Sun.

Today, I got to sleep in, take a nap, get my haircut, return a Christmas gift, and just catch up on the DVR. I am stoked to not have much to do today. And tomorrow I am going to brunch with my girlfriends to celebrate some birthdays. I’m so excited! And I don’t think I’ll be going into the office. Oh well. Work will still be there on Monday and it’s not really time sensitive.

Looking back, I still haven’t done my resolutions. I’m trying to be deliberate about them, and really plan and mean what I put into them. I have a good start, but I don’t think I’m ready to share.

Until next time! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

