starting 2011 on the right foot…almost

 

photobucket.com

I was determined to wake up this morning and have myself a very healthy breakfast to start 2011. It almost happened. First my alarm went off. I hate forgetting to turn that thing off on the weekends! Then the dog had to go outside, so out of bed I got. It was a bit chilly outside, so when I got back in, I grabbed a blanket and curled up on the couch to watch College Gameday on ESPN. (I heart Kirk Herbstreit!) And I wasn’t really hungry, considering I ate into the wee hours of the night last night. But there was a box of Trader Joe’s Joe-Joe’s staring at me. And I knew there were only a few left, so what do I do, I ate the 6 remaining ones. Yes, what a great way to start the New Year. And I have no one to blame but myself. Can I really change myself this year, and not overeat in one sitting? It hasn’t started out that way this year.

 

I do believe that you can start over, regardless if it’s the new year or not. It just so happens that my 2nd attempt to make over myself and eat healthier started at about 11am this morning. I had my healthy breakfast, full of protein, no sugar, somewhat light on the carbs, and full of flavor!

I love omelets! Although I do tend to make the same one everyday. My standard has been 1 egg, 2 egg whites, 1/4 c. of red onions, and 1/4 cup of Mexican shredded cheese. However, today (and all of the past week), I have been having the 1/4 c. mushrooms, 1/4 c. red onions, and 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese. I saute the mushrooms and onions first in a pan with olive oil spray. Then I use ~1 tsp. of coconut oil, toss the eggs on, let it cook a little, and add the veggies and cheese. I cook mine a little longer than most, I don’t like anything runny! Transfer to a plate and add a dash of salt and pepper. Delicious and healthy! As a treat today, I added a parm-siago rosemary roll from Trader Joe’s. It has parmesan/asiago on top, with rosemary baked in. It is delicious and a good addition to the omelet. I’ve been on a Trader Joe’s kick lately, I think I went there 4 times in the last 7 days!

 

So now that it’s after noon time here in San Diego and I have made my first attempt at healthy living for the new year, I think I will hop in the shower, settle in to watch some more bowl games, and eventually turn the tube off to reflect and create my goals from 2011.

Enjoy the day, it’s going to be a great one!

Leave a Reply

