brussels sprouts

Brussel sprouts

Image via Wikipedia

I have never liked brussels sprouts, and I think that stems from my mother cooking them, actually steaming them, so that they stunk up the whole house. The funny thing is that I never even tasted a brussels sprout until about six weeks ago. I just assumed they were disgusting because of how they smelled. Yet, I went to dinner at a fancy place with my sister in Chicago, and she raved about them, so I had one. It was baked or sautéed with butter and garlic. Oh man, was I ever missing out! They are so good. I think I have a new vegetable to add to my repertoire.

It took me six weeks to actually buy brussels sprouts. I was at Trader Joe’s last week and they had this “rope” of fresh brussels sprouts. I was about to buy the whole thing. I stopped though, thinking I have never made them, what if I can’t make them like the restaurant and I hate them! Then I have a bunch of leftover brussels sprouts. I settled for a bag of brussels sprouts instead. I’ve let it sit for a week, so I hope they are still ok. I found a recipe that looks easy enough “Brussel Sprouts with Browned Garlic.” Plus I don’t have to run to the store for anything.

I’m off to experiment with cooking brussels sprouts! Full report later tonight or tomorrow!

When you were younger, was there a food you didn’t even want to try just because it smelled bad?!

For me, not only was it brussels sprouts, but also cauliflower and cabbage! Mom used the same steamer for all of those. It must of been that darn thing, I think I can blame the steamer on my issue here :).

Leave a Reply

