brussels sprouts success

And they were pretty darn good if I do say so myself. I used THIS recipe from myrecipes.com. And in my previous post, I stated I had all the ingredients, well I was wrong. So while I had the brussels sprouts in the oven, I ran to Albertson’s and grabbed garlic and lemon. I did have the garlic, but I wasn’t sure how long I’d had it. I was slicing it and there was some green in the middle, so I tossed it. I also didn’t notice the recipe called for lemon juice, hence the lemon. I was in and out of the grocery so fast, so luckily I didn’t burn my place down!

This was a very easy recipe, especially if you buy the brussels sprouts already cut from the stem. The garlic took a bit longer, so I turned the heat up. You just need to keep a real close eye on it so it doesn’t burn.Oh, and the smell of brussels sprouts doens’t really bother me anymore. Phew, glad I got past that issue from my childhood!

I didn’t take any pictures, I totally forgot. But here is the image from the website…

Mine were a bit more charred than the ones here, and the garlic was a bit crisp.But it was darn good. I also had some leftover herb and mustard sirloin (recipe from Food Network Magazine, I didn’t really like it so I won’t be sharing) as well as some sweet potato fries.

I also had a huge fail today. I thought that I could get through the day without much sugar. I had a hot chocolate in the morning. I went to Pei Wei for lunch and had the Honey Crisp Chicken. And then I kept thinking about cookies and chocolate after I ate dinner. I tried to not go to the grocery, but I went and I am so mad at myself. I bought cookies and cookie dough. Of course I’ve eaten more than several of the cookies. Hoping I can actually make cookies from the cookie dough tomorrow and not eat any! Who am I kidding, it’ll probably be gone after breakfast! So, I really need help to control these cravings. I am determined to do it, I just feel so awful right now after indulging in those cookies. I know I can do this, I know I can do this. I just have to believe it. Ok, that’s it. I know this last paragraph doesn’t really fit, but I had to get it off my chest.

Off to go and clean up all the dishes I dirtied. Good night.

Leave a Reply

