last night’s dinner~pesto pizza

I’ve been making this pesto pizza for about a week now! It is nothing special, but it is so good. I had the leftover pesto from the stuffed pork chops, and the only thing I could think to use the rest on was pizza. Instead of tomato sauce I used the pesto.

What I used

  • pita bread (the kind I used was very thin)
  • basil pesto
  • red onion
  • shredded mozzarella
  • shredded Parmesan
  • Pine nuts
  • grape tomatoes (I got these at the Farmer’s Market, they are so good!)
  • red pepper (again from the Farmer’s Market!)

That’s it. I really think the pesto goes the best with veggies, so if I had others, I would have loaded them up on it. But I’m pretty much an onion, red pepper, and tomato lover, so I stuck with those.

the ingredients

going in the oven

the finished product

I took a risk, and ate the pizza on the couch, with the dog licking her chomps to get her mouth on this…

"that pizza is mine"

"i can almost taste it!"

"well, at least I get to lick the plate"

And for dessert I had my very first pluot. Got this at the Farmer’s Market as well. It is a little bit sweet and a little bit sour. It’s supposed to be a cross between a plum and an apricot. I don’t really prefer either fruit, but I really liked this. If you can get it in your area, I highly recommend trying it.

the pluot

i didn't realize there was a "pit" to it. i tried to cut right through it, oops!

nice and juicy, what a great late summer treat

That’s all. I won’t be cooking much this week, I’m heading out of town for work. But I can’t wait to dive into Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution cookbook when I get back!

Leave a Reply

