casa de amistad

I go to an amazing church that has a partnership with Casa de Amistad. I decided this year that I was going to volunteer there and I will be able to tutor or as they call us, be a “study companion.” I just had the volunteer orientation and I’m so excited to get started. 2 weeks from today I’ll get matched up with someone from grade 5-12. I didn’t really have a preference, but decided I would start with the older kids. I just have to commit for this semester, and if it goes well, I will continue. I really feel that I have been called to do this, to help someone, to be a part of something greater than myself. I lack confidence in myself, I’ve had a lifetime of low self-esteem, but I feel like if I can help someone to be confident in their school work, then I will have confidence in myself. Yes, that just sounded self-serving, sort of what’s in it for me. But I’ve learned that I do have to take care of number one, and that is me. So for me, helping someone else is going to help me.

Casa de Amistad means “House of Friendship” in Spanish. Most all of the kids that attend this program are Latino. There were so many great stories I heard tonight, and I can’t wait to make a difference in one of the kids lives. More information can be found here.

Leave a Reply

